Annex 1. Principal salmon rivers

In 1998, a Ministerial instruction required the Environment Agency to implement Salmon Action Plans on all 64 principal salmon rivers in England and Wales (23 in Wales) and for these stocks to be evaluated using conservation limits.

A performance assessment of these principal rivers and the actions to protect and manage their stocks is reported annually to ICES.

In Wales these are:

- 1 Wye
- 2 Usk
- 3 Taff & Ely
- 4 Ogmore
- 5 Tawe
- 6 Tywi
- 7 Taf
- 8 Eastern Cleddau
- 9 Western Cleddau
- 10 Nevern
- 11 Teifi
- 12 Rheidol
- 13 Dyfi
- 14 Dysinni
- 15 Mawddach
- 16 Dwyryd
- 17 Glaslyn
- 18 Dwyfawr
- 19 Seiont
- 20 Ogwen
- 21 Conwy
- 22 Clwyd
- 23 Dee

Border Rivers are : Dee, Wye, Severn

Designated rivers with salmon as a contributing feature

Six rivers have been designated Special Areas of Conservation (SACs), under the EU Habitats Directive, with salmon as a named qualifying species. This places additional requirements to maintain the habitats in these rivers in a favourable condition for salmon.

• Wye*, Usk, Teifi, Eden, Gwyrfai, Dee*